A Unique Twist to a Classic Breakfast: Red Velvet Pancakes

Why are people obsessed with red velvet cake? I’ve never been a fan of the red velvet cake because I don’t like the vinegar flavor in it. My grub partner likes red velvet cake. Although he doesn’t have a sweet tooth, it’s the only cake he will eat. One night, we were watching Cooking Channel‘s Unique Sweets and the Buttermilk food truck was featured on the show. The Buttermilk truck serves red velvet pancake. Oh yeah red velvet lovers! You heard it right – RED VELVET PANCAKES! Of course it caught my grub partner’s attention! I must say the red velvet pancakes looks delicious. I just hope they taste delicious too.

The Buttermilk Truck

The Buttermilk Truck (image from buttermilktruck.com)

I started google-ing Buttermilk food truck’s red velvet pancake and I learned that they are selling the red velvet pancake mix in some local stores. This is great! I can make them at home. The next day I went to Bristol Farms (they also carry it at Sur La Table) and got the pancake mix.

Buttermilk Truck's Red Velvet Pancake Mix

Buttermilk Truck’s Red Velvet Pancake Mix

I’m excited to make them for my grub partner since it’s the only cake he enjoys eating. It’s easy to make the red velvet pancakes. The ingredients and directions on how to make the pancakes, and the cream cheese frosting are printed on the container. I want to serve and eat the pancakes warm so I started making the frosting first.

Red Velvet pancakes topped with Cream cheese frosting

Red Velvet pancakes topped with Cream cheese frosting

Cream Cheese Frosting
Adapted from Buttermilk Truck

Ingredients:

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup or 1 stick of butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup

Directions:

Using an electric mixer, mix butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add powdered sugar and mix until its well incorporated. Add the maple syrup and mix again until smooth.

Instead of maple syrup, I used agave. I didn’t want the frosting to be too sweet so I only used about  2 tablespoons of agave syrup. To make the frosting spoontaneous, I added chocolate chips. Lightly mix in chocolate chips with the frosting. Refrigerate frosting while cooking the pancakes.

Hot off the pan red velvet pancakes!

Hot off the pan red velvet pancakes!

Red Velvet Pancake
Adapted from Buttermilk Truck

Ingredients:

1 cup of Buttermilk Red Velvet Pancake Mix
1 egg
1/4 cup buttermilk
1 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp cider vinegar (optional)

Directions:

In a bowl, whisk egg with oil and vinegar. Add the pancake mix to the wet mixture and mix until the batter is smooth. Cook pancakes on a griddle at 275 degrees fahrenheit or on a non stick pan at medium low heat.

I used a non stick pan on a low heat to cook my pancakes. Pour or scoop the batter on the pan. Flip pancakes when edges start to rise. Cook each side for about a minute and a half. Serve pancakes while warm. Top with cream cheese frosting.

Luscious Red Velvet Pancakes

Luscious Red Velvet Pancakes

My grub partner can’t hardly wait for the red velvet pancakes. He topped the pancakes with a  generous scoop of cream cheese frosting and blackberry puree sauce. You can make the blackberry (or any fruit of your choice) puree sauce by cooking blueberries, lime juice, and sugar together until the mixture boils and thickens. Squish the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds. Cool the mixture and refrigerate until ready to use.

My grub partner delightfully ate the pancakes with a glass of coconut milk. Now the question is — did I like the red velvet pancakes? No. I loved ’em! Not only they look delicious but they taste delicious! I topped my pancakes with chocolate chips-cream cheese frosting and sliced raspberries.

Oh my sweetness! Red Velvet Pancake

Oh my sweetness! Red Velvet Pancake

I love the mild, and just-sweet-enough taste of the red velvet pancakes.The raspberries added tartness to the rich and creamy frosting. Buttermilk Truck has added a unique twist to a classic breakfast. Now I know why breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Ha-ha! There are so many ways to add luscious flavors to the red velvet pancake. Toppings are endless! You can top them with sliced fruits, fruit puree, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream. Or you can have pancakes for dessert and top them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Be creative and Enjoy!

Topped with chocolate chips - cream cheese frosting and fresh raspberries

Topped with chocolate chips – cream cheese frosting and fresh raspberries

2 thoughts on “A Unique Twist to a Classic Breakfast: Red Velvet Pancakes

Leave a comment